Hexagon Love Quilt

I finished my latest quilt over the kid’s winter break: my hexagon love quilt. It’s a mishmash of pinks, corals, and green prints. I actually cut all the hexagon pieces back before the kitchen remodel (cutting the hexagons is the most time consuming part of the project) , thinking I’d have time during that month to make this quilt. Turns out I can only manage a few major projects at a time…

2015-01-02 12.53.10

I pulled the pieces of this quilt out after Christmas and just began sewing. No real plans, except to make masses of hexagon “flowers”. I made six, and realized I needed a plan. I decided on four rows of three hexagon “flowers”, aiming for a twin sized quilt with a border. This quilt really came together fast. Maybe it was just the quiet, cosy afternoons when I had time to sew,  or the whole day I had to finish the quilt when the kids and Jon went to the museum and zoo, leaving me by myself for a delicious afternoon of quiet. But I enjoyed the time I had to make something so lovely.

2015-01-02 12.50.58 2015-01-02 12.53.08 2015-01-02 13.51.322015-01-02 17.28.08 2015-01-03 13.59.34 2015-01-03 13.59.39

I made an apple cake from Falling Cloudberries (a holiday gift), which was pure torture, since I promised NOT to eat any until the kids came back from their adventure with their dad. I really could have use a bite of cake with my tea when sewing! I quilted the centers of the hexagon “flowers”. I made an extra hexagon “flower” and sewed it on the center of the backing, which was an old white flannel sheet I had laying around. I used my new Anna Maria Horner pearl cotton threads to highlight the little flower on the back. I used a blanket stitch – you can tell I don’t hand sew very often! I just need more practice. I received a number of embroidery projects from my husband for the holidays, so I should get some practice soon!

2015-01-08 12.25.56 2015-01-08 12.26.01

This cosy and colorful quilt has a home right now on the back of the couch in the living room. Just in time for the colder, rainy weather headed our way. I made new pillow coverings for all the pillows in the same color family as the quilt. I’ve been lobbying to paint the living room a more vibrant orange color, so i thought it was only fair to sew in coordinating fabrics that will look fantastic with the color I feel for. Stay tuned to see if I get to paint the room!

2015-01-08 12.27.57 2015-01-08 12.28.13

I must have gone a bit crazy when cutting the hexagons out, because I have a stack of them (see the picture at top) still left over. Want to sew your own hexagon quilt? Leave me a message with your email address, and I’ll send it to you. Sharing the hexagon love!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hexagon Love Quilt

Leave a Reply

