Kitchen Updates: Tile

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared the latest of the kitchen updates. It’s a big one – the tile is in! Or up, I should say. We had a bit of a delay in having the tile back splash installed since they needed to wait for a counter top in place before placing the tile on the walls. And since the counter tops are all being crafted by hand…so, it was a bit a of a wait. We’re still waiting on the island counter top and two more shelves…which, hopefully, should be installed soon.

2014-09-17 16.03.22

2014-09-16 16.06.44  2014-09-17 09.46.08 We order the Meadow Green tile from Health Ceramics. I have always loved, well, everything made by Health Ceramics. Only in my wildest dreams did I think to include these beautiful tiles in my dream kitchen…and now that dream is becoming a reality, it’s amazing to see these tiles on our wall.

Jon and I disagreed on the green color at first. He wanted a more olive-green, which I felt would be too dark. This Meadow Green had just the right brightness to offset the white cabinets and dark(er) wood counter tops. We ordered six of each tile to see how they compared with the wood counter top materials. Meadow Green was the clear winner (at least to me!).

I select a paint color – Repose Gray by Sherwin William – that I thought would really allow this beautiful tile color stand out. The best part about these tiles is the color variation from tile to tile, in my mind.

We somehow ordered way more tile than we needed to tile the back splash and the fireplace surround. So, we raised the height on the fireplace tile, and added tile to the counter top area by the bar and the landing zone. We still have a little bit of tile leftover. I do think that this additional tile throughout the room makes the look more cohesive.

kitchen tile (23) kitchen tile (27) kitchen tile (28) kitchen tile (26)

Before the tile, the kitchen seemed very modern, and a bit cold. The wood counter tops have warmed the room considerable. But with the addition of the tile – wow. I’m blown away every time I walk into this room.

kitchen tile (3)

Now I need to select fabric for the chairs in the conversation area by the fireplace. It is hard to find a green color or even a pattern that coordinates with the tile, so I’m thinking about using a solid grey, perhaps in a soft, cozy fabric. The rug for this area has yet to be found. I have an fantastic dream…But there’s no rush. We’ll find the right one for this space eventually. I just cannot wait until the weather cools off and we can have a fire in this beautiful new(ish) fireplace.

kitchen tile (24) kitchen tile (9)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kitchen Updates: Tile

  1. Edith Lin

    Congratulations! Beautiful kitchen. We are thinking of using meadow green for our kitchen backsplash as well. Could you tell me how yours has held up? What size tile did you use? And are you still in love with the color?
    Thanks in advance for your reply.

Leave a Reply

