Making Bagels

The kids and I made bagels this weekend. It was a little bit of work, but a fun project. The kids really had fun rolling the dough out (although Gabe just tried eating the dough when he tired of rolling it out).

IMG_20140706_105916

0706141139[1] 0706141123[1] 0706141139a[1]

I used a recipe from Nigella Lawson, from one of the many cookbooks I was looking through before packing them away. I made her peanut butter and chocolate bars the weekend prior, which were just as tasty as I remembered.

The bagels tasted very good, but weren’t quite circular in shape. Nigella said to pinch the ends together, but the bagels sorta fell apart in the sugar bath. But, perhaps with practice, I’ll get better. It really doesn’t matter in the end though!

To make everything bagels for the adults, I mixed poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic and onion flakes, and salt on a plate. I dipped the bagels in the plate following their sugar bath. Tasty!

IMG_20140706_121338

Leave a Reply

