Spring Sewing

My knitting has been put away for a few months now, although I do think about taking it out every now and then. Maybe for our next road trip? I’ve been sewing, mostly viking hats (more soon, I promise!). But I found time to make a few other things…

Like a Princess Dress for a birthday girl:

ida marie prin (1)Pants, using the Kid Pant Pattern by Dana Made It. Gabe loves light-weight pants right now. He only had two pairs, and he’s potty training. Whenever those pants came out of the dryer, he would out them on. Now he has a couple more pairs, with many more to come.

shark pants (1) whale pants (2) whale pants (3) whale pants (4) whale pants (5)Sophia started sewing last week too. I bought her a kit from JoAnn’s that was basically two cutouts (flower and bunny) of felt for each toy (with holes along the outside), a plastic needle, and yarn. I showed her how to thread the yarn through the holes, we stuffed each toy with fluff (as Sophia calls it), and viola! Sophia sewed! She loved it.

sophia sews (2) sophia sews (3) sophia sews (4) sophia sews (5)

I am not buying another kit though. I’ll make my own – and so can you.  All you need is felt (of which I have an enormous plastic tub), paper animal shapes to cut out in the felt (easy), and yarn. And as for those small holes to thread yarn, I’ve since bought a crop-a-dile device that should allow me to punch small holes in felt (among many other things).  We have plans to make some more Sophia sewing projects soon, so I’ll let you know how Sophia’s sewing develops. I’m just thrilled to have her sitting on the floor next to me, sewing. Up next, Jane Austin!

I did have to embroider whiskers and eyes on the bunny
I did have to embroider whiskers and eyes on the bunny

sophia sews (6)

 

 

Leave a Reply

