In My Garden

spring garden (1) spring garden (2) spring garden (3) spring garden (5) spring garden (6) spring garden (7) spring garden (8) spring garden (9) spring garden (10) spring garden (11) spring garden (12) spring garden (13) spring garden (14) spring garden (15) spring garden (16) spring garden (17)Lots of new plants were added this weekend. I somehow came home with more tomato plants when I went to pick up a new pump for the small pond. And joining those tomatoes were purple butterfly bushes, zinnas, and bacopa (my favorite trailing white flower plant), verbena, and cucumbers. And perhaps a zucchini plant. And more soil. I like to mix our sandy soil with vermiculite for good draining.  Luckily, I didn’t forget the pond pump… I even spray painted my garden spiral a lovely purple color. It just looks so cheerful now. Most of the plants went into pots on the patio and a few scattered throughout the yard. The chard and kale were going to seed, so the chickens got to finish those off.

Sad thing, we lost two chickens this week – both within hours of each other. Not sure what it was, but the switch in weather to warm (very warm) always seems to impact them. The remaining girls seem fine – they all have plenty of water, so we know that’s not it. I need to bring in more compost for them to scratch – they cool off in the dirt.

I’ve been cutting my spinach to use in nearly every other meal – it too will bolt if this heat continues. Which it will. I’m enjoying it while it lasts – I do love spinach! The kids and I have been seeking strawberries every day. Some days we luck out and find a nice red ripe berry. The others are still too small, so we leave them to grown.

I did make some progress on the irrigation system, and hope to finish it off soon. I know I keep saying that! The warmer weather and windy days means everything dries out so quickly. It would be nice to have the plants on the watering schedule so I don’t have manually water everything. Soon.

The kids aren’t too fond of actually helping in the garden. They do like to spray the water hose – mostly on themselves (and really, when it’s warm, who doesn’t?) They do like directing me as to what plants to put where…but they soon get bored and go looking for strawberries. It works for me.

Hope your garden is growing nicely too!

One thought on “In My Garden

Leave a Reply

