Cozy Valentine Quilt

It’s been lovely here, days in the 70’s, but it is nice to cuddle beneath a warm cozy blanket in the evenings when it gets chilly. I decided it was time to make myself a lovely blanket for these nights, where I can sit in my pretty yellow chair, watching the kids play together.

2014-01-17 10.21.19I found some lovely fabrics from Joann’s on sale, and went with it. My color scheme was very pink, and I decided to embrace it. I selected some coral flannel fabric for the backing, and I was off!

I cut the four different fabrics into rectangles roughly 10 inches x 10 inches, nothing too exact. I Decided to start and end each row with the same fabric for a bit of cohesion, and then just sewed fabric together. I arranged the rows in a manner I liked, with the top and bottom rows about half the side of the other rows for symmetry. I sewed the quilt top together in an hour before the kids came home one afternoon.

valentine quilt (10)

That weekend, I found another couple of hours to sew. I quickly make the backing fabric the appropriate size (45 inches by 60 inches), sewed the quilt top to the batting (my little trick for keeping things smooth), and quickly used the old envelop-style method of quilting the three layers together.

valentine quilt (13)

Some quilt quilting in straight lines along the rows, and I had a quilt for me! So lovely, soft, and cozy – don’t you want one for yourself? My husband sure does, so I know what I’m making him for Valentine’s Day! And it helps that I can make this size quilt in about 4 hours.

2014-01-28 13.50.48 2014-01-28 13.51.01 valentine quilt (1)

And since I still had some time left to sew before my family came back from the park, I made a couple of pillows for the couches in the living room, just to brighten things up. The colors look great for Valentine’s Day, don’t you think?

 

 

 

One thought on “Cozy Valentine Quilt

  1. Pingback: A Crocheted Surprise | Desert Homespun

Leave a Reply

