the Sally Dress

I am in love with a new dress – the Sally Dress – by luv in the mommyhood. It’s such a fun, easy dress to sew – you’ll want to whip up several dresses in no time. At least I did!

I made the size 8 for Miss Sedona, who turns six on Thanksgiving Day. Sophia and I selected cut kitty cat flannel fabric from JoAnn’s.  Between the sleeve and the bodice, you only need to cut a couple of pieces of paper – for a PDF pattern, that’s pretty awesome! The skirt and pockets have no pattern, rather sizes you need to cut the rectangles to for each. Usually I spend a long time cutting and taping together parts of the pattern before I can even begin to cut out the fabric!

sweet sewing (7)

This pattern has three sleeve options, so it’s easy to find one that works for any situation. I particularly love the square neckline. I had been drafting my own pattern with this style of neckline, but was so happy to have found this pattern that took all the guesswork out of the equation!

sweet sewing (9) sweet sewing (1)

The pattern is very simple to understand. Once you get to the tricky section – attaching the bodice to the skirt – the language is fairly easy to understand…and if you happen to sew the fabric incorrectly, well, it’s pretty quick to rip that seam you just made and give it another go. Just saying…

I made the size two for Miss Katie Belle for her birthday this month.  The fabric is also from JoAnn’s, and it is pink foxes on a grey background in flannel. So cute & comfy! She just loves wearing her dress!

photo

I love the gathered waistband – but what I really love on this dress is the large pockets. Perfect for carrying anything your little girl’s heart desires – from small stuffed kitty cats to rocks. These pockets are sturdy! I used different fabric with both dresses for the pocket linings. Sedona’s dress has pink chickens to complement her kitty cats, and Katie Belle has a lovely pink fabric. I can’t wait to make a dress with contrasting pockets!

I just love this dress. I have plans to make several more – really, you never get tired of sewing it. So many options and with different fabrics, so perfect for many occasions. So, if you have a little girl on my Holiday list this year, chances are she’ll be receiving this dress! I hope they love it as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

