weaving

I’ve been interested in weaving for awhile, and decided to take a beginning weaving class from a local shop – Grandma’s Spinning Wheel. I selected some beautiful yarn in turquoise for the weft and a multicolored thicker yarn with lots of lovely blues.

weaving (6) weaving (10) weaving (11) weaving (13)

Setting up the samplelt loom took a little bit of time, and then we began weaving. It was so easy – so much easier than knitting – and so much quicker too! In three weaving sessions (two of which I did at home, with Gabriel playing on the floor beside me) – I have a scarf! A lovely scarf!

weaving (2)

scarf (2)

Of course, taking your loom to the beach isn’t a very practical thing. Other than this small inconvenience, I think I’d like to get into weaving more. I see place mats, napkins, and maybe even fabric-making in my future!

 

Leave a Reply

