bath scrubs

My friend Tammy made me a lovely basket of homemade bath scrubs for the holidays. Naturally, when I used them all up rather quickly, I begged her to show me how to make them. It is very simple, we made a couple of batches when we were over for dinner one night. Try it – you’ll never go back to buying bath scrubs again!

Tammy’s Bath Scrubs:

You need:

  • a large mixing bowl
  • spatula
  • plastic container to store your scrub in (you can use glass canning jars, but I don’t like to mix glass and the bathroom!)
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • An oil – grape seed, olive, or coconut are all good choices
  • Essential Oil(s) of you choice

Pour enough salt into your container of choice, then measure that amount. This is the amount your final mixture needs to be – my containers hold 2 cups. I like to make my scrubs half salt and sugar. Salt is a great exfoliate, but it’s also great at getting into the many open cuts and dry skin cracks I have from gardening. Not exactly the relaxing shower I’m after with lots of salt in open wounds!

scrubs (1)

Add the essential oils. I like jasmine for nighttime and citrus for the morning. This is the fun part -you can experiment with different scents until you find combos that you really love. Add enough essential oil until you can really smell your scent. You can also mix in orange zest or other add-ins if you like. Then add about 1/2 cup of your choice of oil – I like grape seed.

scrubs (3)

Mix everything together. If the scrub doesn’t stick together well enough, add a little more oil. Put your scrub into your container and you’re all set!

scrubs (4)

One thought on “bath scrubs

  1. I am totally out of my scrubs and have been missing them! Now to just find a few minutes to mix up a few new batches. My next ones will be Ylang Ylang, Patchouli and Peppermint!

Leave a Reply

