paper fan dress

I’ve wanted to sew Anna Maria Horner‘s Paper Fan Dress for Sophia the moment I saw it on her blog. This Sunday, Sophia asked me to sew her a dress for Easter, never mind that it is a month away! I was happy to oblige her – she hasn’t asked me to sew her anything in some time!

She wanted a dress with pink or purple fabric. I let her choose her fabric for the skirt from my stash and selected the solid pink for the bodice. I need to stock up on more solid pinks and purples!

paper fan dress (1) paper fan dress (2) paper fan dress (3) paper fan dress (4)

I cut out the fabric and began sewing. About an hour later, the dress was nearly complete – I just had to attach the bodice to the skirt. I found 10 minutes before the start of Downton Abbey Sunday night to do this – I used my quilting walking foot. I LOVE the walking foot! I had some trouble with the pleats, so I decided to do them a little differently than Anna Maria’s pattern. It still turned out lovely.

I made the dress in the 5-6 size, knowing it may be a little big. I haven’t hemmed it yet either. The last thing to do is to make the buttonholes. I have never made buttonholes before and I didn’t have the buttonhole foot for my machine. I bought one the other day, and need practice before I attempt to make them on this dress. MADE has a great tutorial for making buttonholes.  Sophia needs to pick out some buttons for the dress too. I’ll show you once I’m done! Wish me luck!

I know I will make this dress again – my niece wants a pink, purple, or blue Easter dress!

modeling (1) modeling (2)

2 thoughts on “paper fan dress

  1. Pingback: Paper Fan Dresses | Desert Homespun

Leave a Reply

