that siren song

I started working again this past Monday. It’s going well, slowly getting into the swing of things. Sophia is thrilled to be at school with her best friends. Gabriel is adjusting to life without Mama all the time (as am I).

However, there is one problem.

My sewing machine is calling to me constantly. Working from home part of the time is great – the silence is such a blessing! – but…my computer sits opposite from my sewing area. Luckily, I don’t face it – I’m looking out a window. Otherwise, well, that would be really hard.

I made some time after the kids were tucked in last night to begin working on my next project: Gabriel’s quilt. I am so excited about it! It’s inspired by a quilt in Denyse Schmidt’s Quilt book – “What a bunch of squares”.  I didn’t want copy the pattern exactly – but I liked the idea of a bunch of different sized square assembled, log-cabin style.

gabe's quilt (1)

So I drew some sketches of blocks, redrew the blocks once I figured out what size I wanted each block to be, then redrew again to make sure I’d have enough of each block to fit within the twin-sized quilt. Then I divided up my fabrics – collection called Les Amis by Patty Sloniger from Hawthorne Threads – and a couple of selections of fabric from JoAnns – for each block.

gabe's quilt (2)

Now all I need to do is begin cutting out Block A fabrics and piecing them together. Perhaps once the kids are all tucked in bed…

One thought on “that siren song

  1. Pingback: Gabriel’s Quilt | Desert Homespun

Leave a Reply

