Quilts in the Works

My little boy likes to model on the quilts I’ve made recently, but I’m sure he’s wondering – hey – where’s my quilt lady! Ok, so maybe he’s more concerned with cutting teeth and his naps, but I bet this would make his top ten list…if he could count.

Sophia’s two quilts (her quilt and quilt-duvet cover) had themes to them and I wanted Gabriel’s to as well. Only I wasn’t too sure what I wanted to do. Not so interested in lots of birds (even though I love birds!) for Gabriel, or cars or some other boy-ish theme. Then I saw these foxes frolicking!Too cute!  Then it hit me – Gabriel’s stocking has a fox on it! Perfect!

Patty Sloniger - Les Amis - Socks the Fox in Aqua

I found the fabric for Gabriel’s quilt at Hawthorne Threads. Turns out this fabric is part of a collection called Les Amis by Patty Sloniger. It has boy and girl-themed prints, but they aren’t too cutesy. I loved them at first glance, and began cutting and pasting prints to begin the hard task of deciding which ones to order for Gabriel’s quilt.

Les Amis Fat Quarter Bundle in Boy

Then I saw they had the collection as a set of fat quarters (duh). I still haven’t worked out the quilt design, but I quickly ordered the fabric.  I plan on including either grey or another yet-determined solid color. Not sure if I’m going to stick with hexagons (my current love) or squares – but this quilt will be a twin-sized quilt. Gulp! I did make one that big before. But that little boy of mine is worth it.

gabe (9)

While browsing Hawthorne Threads, another set of fat quarters caught my eye – the Bella Fat Quarter by Lotta Jansdotter.  It has 22 Fat Quarter Bundles, with 19 prints in it. I love Lotta’s prints and thought it would make a great quilt for my bedroom. Which requires a queen-size quilt. Oh. My. Goodness.  What am I getting myself into? I decided not to worry about making a queen-size anything, ordered the fat quarters, and plan on making the quilt one block at a time. Once I decide on a quilt pattern, of course.

Bella Fat Quarter Bundle

But really, how could I pass this up? I’ve been feeling like that cobbler whose kid’s have no shoes, at least until I finished Sophia’s quilt. Now it’s time to make a few quilts for our home.

You really should check out the fat quarter bundles at Hawthorne Threads – I’m sure you’ll find something that catches your eye – I just saw another set that I love.  Hmm…wonder if the cat needs a quilt?

One thought on “Quilts in the Works

  1. Pingback: Gabriel’s Quilt | Desert Homespun

Leave a Reply

