the making of ricotta

I’ve dabbled in cheese-making a few times. After reading my new favorite cookbook – In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite by Melissa Clark (one of my favorite NY Times Dining Section columnists AND I just found her blog!) – where she mentions a funny story about ricotta – I wanted to make some soon. Add in the latest Country Living magazine encouraging you to make several different kids of homemade pizzas, including one with homemade ricotta, I felt it was time.  I actually checked Smitten Kitchen’s site first to see if she had a recipe for ricotta (and of course, she did).  I reviewed both recipes and ended up making Smitten Kitchen’s version rather than the magazine’s.  I made two batches one morning. Ricotta is perhaps the simplest cheese to make. Simple bring milk, heavy cream, and salt to a boil – remove from heat – and add lemon juice. Wait for curds to form 5-10 minutes.  The pour into cheesecloth or a cheese mold over a bowl to catch the whey. And wait an hour or two. Then you have ricotta! Try not to eat all of it at once on some crusty bread. I managed to save some for another purpose…

I made homemade sausage and two-cheese pizza using my modified dough recipe from Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  A nice meal for a weeknight dinner – one that everyone likes.

And a random picture of the family!

One thought on “the making of ricotta

  1. I make ricotta almost weekly. Forget the cream unless you use reduced fat milk. All you need is milk and some sort of acid. I use apple cider vinegar as it imparts a nice flavor. I’m glad it turned out well for you. The pizza looks really yummy!

Leave a Reply

