summer = fruit

The name of this post says it all – summer = fruit.  We have been going through boxes of strawberries, blueberries, nectarines – you name it, we’re eating it!  At Costco last week I picked up 5 pounds of nectarines.  It turns out nectarines are excellent in pie.  Did you know that? Especially in this crumble pie recipe I’ve modified from Martha:

  • Frozen pie crust (definitely NOT a Martha thing, but so easy!)
  • Filling : Cut up enough slices of your choice of fruit (peaches, nectarines, etc) to fit in the pie crust & 2 T of brown sugar & flour. This may end up using 3-4 pieces of fruit. Combine the filling well and place in frozen pie crust. I also like to add a handful of other fruits, such a blueberries or blackberries.
  • Crumble:1/3 cup of flour, brown sugar, and oats.  Mix well – place on top of filling.  Layer 6 T of butter over.   You can use less or more…

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes (until juices are bubbling and pie top is golden).  I like to place tin foil over the pie until the last 15-20 minutes.

I tried to get a photo of the whole pie, but that’s just impossible! I like to think that the combination of oats and fruit makes these extra healthy…ahem…well, sorta. If you don’t count the sugar & butter.

In additional to all the fruit we’re eating these days, salads are also being consumed nightly.  We love tomato-mozzarella basil salad with balsamic vinegar and tossed green salad with beans.  We tried these two new recipes last night: Chickpea & roasted red pepper salad (I added a small amount of feta) and shrimp& avocado platter with lime & chilli dressing  (I doctored the sauce to make it a bit more spicy).  I have many more summer salads planned to make!

I also need to get ready for this year’s jam-making session – before we leave on our next trip in early July!

Other than eating (which is kinda what this post sounds like we do all the time), there has been lots of reading, spending time with friends, and creating.  Some sewing projects have been more successful than other (I’ll tell you about it soon), but, the point is, we’re having a grand summer!  Hope you are too!

Oh, that lemon curd in the picture – my friend Amy introduced me to just how divine lemon curd is! My taste buds thank you Amy!

One thought on “summer = fruit

Leave a Reply

