having time

When the workweek is so busy you barely have time to think, it’s a treat when you get a day that’s not scheduled.  You get to have breakfast with both your daughter and husband (although your daughter feeds most of her food to the dog). You can actually spend time with your husband – something we have not had much of in this house lately, what with me leaving early in the morning and Jon working late into the night.

 

You also might get lucky and have a chance to catch up with a friend.  This is exactly what Sophia and I were able to do today.  We went to Amy’s house.  We ate some yummy treats (pumpkin spice cake with citrus honey cream cheese frosting AND bagels!) and I attempted to teach Amy to crochet.  I say attempted, not on Amy’s part for learning, but for me and the teaching part.  It was the first time I’d ever taught anyone to crochet and let’s just say, thank goodness I brought that book to help me figure out what the heck I was trying to say!  I hope I got her off to a start of some kind…

 

Here’s the recipe for the pumpkin spice cake from Martha. It is SO good.

 

picture from martha

And the kids had a great time playing, of course!

 

 


 

I think it’s important to remember to take the time to slow down and enjoy the moment.  Take a slow day…and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “having time

  1. Amy

    We had a great time! And Pamela is a good teacher…I can actually crochet (at least in the most basic manner) after her lesson, and with some help from the book she loaned me. The cake is sooooo good, I’ll be making it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

