the making of an owl

Sophia is going to be an owl for Halloween.  I made a costume for her based on this image (from Alpha Mom):

This costume is super cute. The shirt part of the costume came together quickly (if you count cutting out fabric feathers one night when Jon was out of town while drinking wine quickly.  Not that I drank the wine quickly, but cutting feathers out quickly).  But the headpiece was tricky – Sophia hates to wear hats or anything like that.

I know – a collective gasp! just popped out of you as you read that line – a daughter of mine who doesn’t like hats???? What a travesty!  No, really it’s ok.   I figure she’ll like them as she gets older.  Or not.

Anyway, back to the costume.  I like the idea of sewing fabric feathers to the shirt, and had a couple of ideas for how to make the headpiece…but…

Well, the costume I made just wasn’t cute.  There, I said it. I did cut the shirt shorter and she has a pair of brown pants to wear, but…it’s just not cute without the head gear.

When you have a little girl who isn’t old enough to make her own choice about what to wear for Halloween,  you get to choose what she’ll be for Halloween.  Sophia was going to be an owl of some kind – based on the poll we did here…  And it needs to be a cute owl.

So, back to the drawing board.  I saw this owl costume and thought – perfect! No headpiece to try to keep on!

i just love the expression on this little girl's face!

Off to SAS we went…looking for something that could represent feathers.  And found two things…so we bought both and I went with my first choice.  The other piece is now living in the playroom, where Sophia uses it to cuddle with.

I can post a tutorial of how I made this simple costume if anyone is interested, but all I did was make the owl head a bodice with a lining in the same shape and the attached the feathers.  The only issue was cutting the feather material – good thing I just bought a new vacuum, since ours took a permanent break. Feather were everywhere.

But it’s a cute costume – I couldn’t stop thinking about how cute it was.  Sophia’s going to be a little snow owl.  Not commonly found here in the southwest, but she sure is cute in it!

I had planned to sew the bodice together completely, but decided to use some straps to allow for an easier on & off of the costume.  I had the side portion where the feathers are sewn together, but Sophia had difficulty climbing up on the couch (and other things), so I had to open that seam. She kinda demanded that…

We’re going to host a Halloween party here on Saturday and I did ask the parents to dress up as well.  We don’t have any games to play, but I figured between the food and the playroom, everyone will have a great time.

And yes, Jon and I are dressing up…our costumes shall be reveled soon…after the party.

Jon is not a big fan of Halloween but he did agree to letting me host a party.  I’m sure he didn’t think I’d go overboard like I did decorating the inside of the house.   But hey, Halloween is only once a year, right?  Besides, I LOVE dressing up!

*** Looking at the costume now, I’m kinda thinking I need to do something more with the eyes… what do you think?

3 thoughts on “the making of an owl

  1. Very cute. As for the eyes here’s a picture of a real snowy owl. Maybe that will help. Smaller pupils possibly, and move them in towards the center more. I googled cartoon owls and they have a lot of images for those. That might help as well since this costume is leaning toward cute snuggly owl rather then live national geographic owl.

    Nice creative thinking with the construction by the way. I can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Too funny, I’m in the middle of a hen costume (as in the Little Red Hen) for my daughter and husband (yes, they each get to wear Little Red Hen costumes) based on the first owl you listed. Now, I’ve seen your creation I’m rather wishing I’d swung by SAS and done a similar thing. I’m a fox, just in case you’re wondering. Have a great Halloween.

  3. I really appreciate the fact that you’ve created your own website and have factually publish your thoughts. I love your work and feel I can relate to what you’ve done. Lots of people can’t even imagine having such talent. I hope that you know how lucky you are. 🙂 Good luck to you in ALL your endeavors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

