Elastic Thread

I attempted a new sewing project this morning – a smocked dress for Sophia using elastic thread.  The pattern was from Weekend Sewing by Heather Ross, which is an excellent book.

Having never used elastic thread, I was up for the challenge.  I just didn’t realize it would take multiple trips to Jo-Ann’s to FIND the elastic thread before I could begin the project. And then, one spool of elastic thread was used up in less than three bobbins????

So, I followed the instructions to a T – and the smocking part didn’t work.  Maybe my fabric wasn’t light weight enough??? I have no idea.  Sophia enjoyed helping me test the sizing and then modeling the final product. She slept through most of the construction, which was nice.

look momma - the smocking DIDN'T work!
but i sure like to untie this!

i like my new dress!

I’ll need to try this pattern again to see if I can figure out what went wrong with the smocking.

3 thoughts on “Elastic Thread

  1. Pingback: Sew Frustrated! « Desert Homespun

Leave a Reply

