Farm City book

I just finished a great book and couldn’t put it down.   I feel totally inspired to move forward with my own “farm” attempts…especially since one  the chickens kicked the bucket last week.   I think they’re on to my plan!

Anyways, the book was Farm City: The Education of an Urban Farmer by Novella Carpenter.  I ran across her sister’s blog (not longer active – but about her life in France and her commitment to live more in the moment and sustainably)…and found Novella’s blog – Ghost Farm Town. Novella’s book is about her progression from creating a garden on an abandoned plot near her apartment in Oakland to her stories about raising livestock because she wants to know not only where her food came from, but how they lived and died.

=

farm city

I really recommend reading this book.  Her prose is down to earth and really quiet funny.  It shows anyone can raise their own food, anywhere.  I did find her 100 yard diet to be a bit extreme – really, I know I can’t produce everything I need to eat or live on, but it was interesting to read about!

On to the rabbits!  Once we take care of those chickies!  Fortunately, (or unfortunately, depending on your view), the one chickie I had selected for butchering did not died this week…now we just need my dad to visit…

Leave a Reply

