Rabbits

I saw a sign at the feed store on my way home yesterday – Bunnies are here!  And I thought to myself – how can I convince Jon we should raise rabbits?  I love to eat rabbit, but cannot seem to find a local source for them…

Raising them ourselves would enable us to grown and eat them.  Just like the chickens, whose time is coming to an end.  The girls will be three years old this May, and just they went through a egg-laying drought that lasted six months and only recently resumed laying. Of course, I have no idea how to butcher them, but my Dad and neighbor across the street have both offered to help.

And this morning, on the cover of the Food section of the New York Times – this was the heading: “Don’t tell the kids” with a rabbit…

A class was held to show interested people who to butcher a rabbit (in New York of course).  It was part of a larger East-West rabbit cultural exchange organized by the magazine Meatpaper. Novella Carpenter, an urban farmer who lives in Oakland, CA, was on hand to demonstrate how to butcher the rabbits.   She has a great book out  called Farm City.

Anyways, the article really solidified for me that we need to really start seriously considering and moving forward with the raising of our own meat.  That was the goal when we got the chickens – and I think we’re about there.  Yes, adding rabbits would be more work and we’ve definitely got plenty going on, but there is something to be said for being able to raise and butcher your own food.  Should we all take a bit more responsibility for where our food comes from and how it was raised and butchered for our use?  This is why I garden, maybe not as successfully as I could, but I at least know what went on my food and where it was grown.  That’s also why I like the farmer’s market that just opened up ten minutes from our place.  I like knowing where my food comes from..

Ok, enough pontificating and time to get on with the day.  Jon went to pick up the trailer (FINALLY!) and I have to clean and outfit it this afternoon.  So, time to get moving…and I can spend the time cleaning to formulate my argument on why we should raise rabbits…

3 thoughts on “Rabbits

  1. I am so with you on this! I love rabbit, and have been pondering getting them for quite a while. Italians love to cook with rabbit they have so many dishes that include rabbit(my husband is from Italy). Once we get our own place(we’re renters) I’m going to get rabbits it eat and for wool. You can get angora rabbits and use their fur for wool! I can’t wait to see how this works out for you, good luck!

  2. Aunt JoAn

    You don’t remember the time Uncle Dave came to your house to butcher the rabbits…you guys were so mad at him…my how times have changed! LOL

Leave a Reply

